top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmy Clark Spain

A 2020 Vision Board

Author Adriana Trigiani, a Big Stone Gap native who writes and publishes about one bestseller a year, recommends it: a board filled with images of your goals, hopes, dreams.


It's proven to have positive effects on how you feel and how well you meet goals. Visualizing what we want to happen (also known as mental imaging) is a powerful tool. (I use this technique in the classroom with public speaking students who have trouble managing their anxiety.) I published my second book, Success in Hill Country with the Napoleon Hill Foundation about people who had achieved their goals using his principles (an interview with Trigiani is in this book), so his famous quote comes to mind:

I used to build vision boards when I was in college, when life seemed to stretch out in front of me like an epic road trip. Now that I'm older, I think about how much I still want to do, even as time passes more quickly. So, I thought, why not build vision boards with my kids while we're home on break? I want to show them how easy it is to visualize goals and create reminders of what we want to happen in our lives, particularly as we begin a new decade.


Making these boards is one thing; achieving what's on them is another. I believe the number one way to make that happen is time management, and I'm not just talking about work time. I mean managing time in such a way that you're achieving balance. If you're constantly feeling like you're running out of time, and you never have enough to do what makes you happy, then you don't have balance. (That's going to take another post.)


Here is a slideshow from our Vision Board projects. First, the kids made lists of their goals. Then, we dove into some old magazines and greeting cards to cut out images that helped visualize those goals. They used glue and scrap-booking paper to make their boards:

I was inspired to make my own digital Vision Board on Pinterest. I hope you'll take a peek as it progresses. Right now, I see it developing in categories, which is a great feature of making a digital board there:

Consider making your own Vision Board for 2020. If you do, I'd love to see it, and I hope you'll follow me there and on Instagram. Happy and Blessed New Year!


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page